Tag Archives: The 6 Growth Areas and Crus of the Cognac Region

The 6 Crus of Cognac: Growth Area and Region

The Cognac region consists of six vineyard growth areas, called 'Crus', or 'terroir'. The grapes used for Cognac brandy must always come from this French region. The area covers the Charente-Maritime, a large part of the Charente, and some smaller parts of Deux-Sèvres and the famous Dordogne. The "Origine Controlée Cognac" (AOC) Cognac is an Appellation that totals about 79,000 hectares of vineyards (that's 790 million square meters). The wine region of Cognac is the second biggest of France, right...
Read More

What is Cognac?… Some facts and a great video!

Cognacs are created by blending different spirits (eaux-de-vie). The eau-de-vie is made through a special distillation process where the grapes are distilled twice. The white wines, which are used for distilling, can only be produced in the region of the Charente, more specifically the area surrounding the town called Cognac. The region is divided into six different zones, terroirs, dependent on soil quality such as chalk, sand or clay. The distilling takes place in the "alembic Charentais", a special pot...
Read More

Most read in The 6 Growth Areas and Crus of the Cognac Region

Sorry. No data so far.