Looking for Caretaker Couple (from May 2019): Estate in French Cognac Region

Sadly, our current wonderful caretaker will return to Berlin at the end of April 2019. We want to begin the search early in order to find a couple that will be the most suitable successors. Please have a look at the requirements for the position–and apply! We’re excited about welcoming you to our family-run estate in the French Cognac region.

Here’s an opportunity for a couple to move to the French countryside, in the Charente. Live on an agricultural estate, in your very own house, with plenty of garden space to yourself, and surrounded by beautiful nature.

>> For more images and impressions of the estate go to www.logis-de-beaulieu.de

Looking for dedicated Caretaker Couple

If you can imagine life on an agricultural estate that provides holiday rentals in the summer, and playing a central role around the property, this could be a perfect setup for you. The owners live on the property. Sister and brother, Sophie and Max, are the founders of Cognac-Expert.com and are running Logis de Beaulieu in the third generation.

Here is what we are looking for:

A dynamic and reliable couple, ideally with an independent income (freelance activity, retirement, remote work, for example), to take on the responsibilities that involve running the day-to-day holiday rental business of the estate, such as receiving deliveries, caring for the surroundings, and doing necessary handy work. We have 4 holiday rentals. You will welcome the guests and be their main point of contact, and maintain the swimming pool and the public areas. Pino, the estate’s dog–a Poodle Pointer–will be in your care. He’s adorable and gets you exercising!

Daily tasks on the estate:

– small repairs or replacements
– gardening & taking care of the outdoor surroundings
– maintaining the swimming pool
– walking the dog Pino

Skills we’re looking for: 

– French language skills, even if only a basic understanding, is a requirement
– It’s an advantage if you speak English or German
– Ideal: Basic IT knowledge, including Internet, Microsoft Word, Excel, email, scanning, phone messaging

Instead of a salary, we offer an exchange “in kind” for the above mentioned tasks (number of hours is negotiable). We offer free accommodation in a secluded charming house (100 square meters) which is surrounded by a large private garden. Water, fire wood, electricity, heating, and property taxes are entirely covered. The house comes with a newly fitted kitchen, and a new shower room with toilet. Otherwise it comes unfurnished.

The position is available from May 2019. If you are interested, please send us an email with your CV + motivational letter to:

Bildschirmfoto 2017-11-28 um 13.32.05

 

 

 

About the estate

The estate is agricultural, corn and sunflowers grow here; most of the agricultural work is outsourced. Our main activity are the holiday rentals.

Estate from above

The estate itself is over 140 hectares, has a valley with two lakes, fields and woods. There are three holiday rentals on the estate which need to be taken care of. The estate is 40 minutes away from Angouleme, 45 minutes away from the sea, 80 minutes from Bordeaux airport; between Barbezieux and Montmoreau. Very close to the Dordogne/Périgord region.

The house where the couple will live in is isolated from every kind of city or town, on the estate – in nature; with garden and lots of space; close to the main building of the estate (on the birds eye picture, on the upper left, red circle).

If you are interested in this proposal, please send an email with your CVs + motivation letter to:

Bildschirmfoto 2017-11-28 um 13.32.05

 

 

Below are some further images of the valley and the estate

Images shot in October 2017 

Some more images of the Caretaker House

August 2015 (Before it was improved)

Back in 2015 the house really needed work. The interior was improvised with temporary beds etc. (were recently used for a group of children). Please note that these images show the exact status in August 2015.  

The house has a large open kitchen / living room with plenty of light, 4 bedrooms, 1 shower room with toilet, and a garage.  

Front view. House surrounded by garden.

Front view. Pan view of garden, protected by bushes

Front view from the right: garage

Front view from the left, entry to living room.

Front view from the left, entry to living room.

Large backyard garden / back view

Back view of house

 

Front view.

Comments (15)

  1. Natasha January 10, 2012 at 12:55 pm

    This sounds very interesting – I will pass this on to some friends who may be interested. Could you confirm if fluent French is essential and also if children are permitted?

  2. Cognac Expert January 10, 2012 at 12:58 pm

    Natasha, great. A certain degree of French would be needed, yes. But it’s also thinkable that they would just learn.. Children are of course permitted.

  3. Natasha January 10, 2012 at 1:10 pm

    Great – will pass on the link! You never answered about children?

  4. Cognac Expert January 10, 2012 at 1:23 pm

    Children are permitted, of course.

  5. frank March 6, 2012 at 4:03 pm

    Is this arrangement now filled? If not I would be interested to discuss it directly, thanks, Frank

  6. Vania April 10, 2013 at 12:41 pm

    Hi, we are a couple with two children and we are interested in the position. We are reliable, hardworking and trustable people, countryside lovers. Please contact us by e-mail if the position is still available.
    Kind Regards
    Vania & Fernando

  7. Katherine Miles April 16, 2013 at 11:39 pm

    Hi
    Is the position now filled, please?
    Thanks
    Katherine

  8. Catherine EDIS May 6, 2013 at 10:40 am

    We are just selling our restaurant in Western Australia and looking for a new adventure. My partner is a chef from the French Alps and I am an Arts manager from Melbourne. We have a 2 year old daughter and are both very capable and handy around properties large or small. Our dream is to have a herb farm and make produce to sell. Please contact us via email if you would like to discuss further. Thank you, Benoit & Cat

  9. Max (Cognac-Expert.com) August 26, 2015 at 2:12 pm

    Hi there, the position is available! Thanks for writing to job@cognac-expert.com

  10. Joop October 10, 2015 at 5:52 pm

    Hi, can you send me the adress, so we can look next week?
    We are having a holiday near by.
    greetings
    Joop

  11. julie and tony peacock December 12, 2015 at 2:43 pm

    we are currently living in England tony is working as a school caretaker , we returned to england 3 years ago after living in majorca for 10 years were we worked in our own business tony did property maintenance i did change overs on holiday lets and gardening tony also renovated bathrooms kitchens tiled swimming pools etc . we had to leave due to tonys side of the business on a slow down due to the economy people just stopped spending money we are currently looking at france and are visiting in june . the job you are offering sounds like the pace of life we are looking for and we would be very interested in the future if a vacancy were to be open again we have excellent references from our clients in majorca we are both 51 years young fit and able . we are from yorkshire we have been married for 34 years we would be grateful if you would keep our info on file for any future vacancy thank you julie and tony peacock.

  12. Robert Pickeral April 11, 2017 at 2:27 pm

    Is this position still available

  13. susanne loibl November 3, 2017 at 9:45 am

    Is this post currently open? we are an international family wanting to move into the area and would be very interested in this position….

  14. Katja Verkh November 4, 2017 at 1:02 pm

    Dear Susanne,

    yes, this position is still open!
    If you are interested in this proposal, please send an email with your CVs + motivation letter to:

    job@cognac-expert.com

    Thank you!

  15. Katja Verkh November 4, 2017 at 1:37 pm

    Dear Julie and Tony,

    this position is available again!
    If you are interested in this proposal, please send an email with your CVs + motivation letter to:

    job@cognac-expert.com

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *